OXID Community Forum

> International Forums > Newbies > Adding an advertisement to my front page
Login
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread: Adding an advertisement to my front page


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
#Top   #1  
Old 08-03-2016, 04:03 PM
NHWS-2 NHWS-2 is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 20
NHWS-2 is on a distinguished road
Default Adding an advertisement to my front page

I wish to add a friends webpage ad to my front page immediately under the NEWS box area. Note on my website, Shoplupe has been disabled.

Importantly if the news area shrinks from say 5 news items to say 1, then the advertisement that is place below the last box should automatically move up and or down if there are more news items.

Attached is a wide shot of the webpage where on the right hand side you can see the NEWS articles and under that I have placed in Photoshop the white ad on news letters.

Help on

1) where to find the right spot to upload the add to
2) what measurements I need to use to keep the adv to the right and floating

Once again,

Many thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg NHW Shop NEWS.jpg (68.1 KB, 13 views)
Reply With Quote
#Top   #2  
Old 08-04-2016, 02:23 PM
NHWS-2 NHWS-2 is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 20
NHWS-2 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Adding an advertisement to my front page

Hi Guys

I am sure that one of you chaps can point me in the right direction without knowing more specific information.

Can you offer some help?
Reply With Quote
#Top   #3  
Old 08-05-2016, 10:28 AM
NHWS's Avatar
NHWS NHWS is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 220
NHWS is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to NHWS
Default Re: Adding an advertisement to my front page

I have worked out the problem and do not require further help at this stage. For the sake of the record and other Newbies

It is an ugly Hack because from what I can see, the Oxid CE template is not "responsive" (doesn't change size with the change of browser display size). It should still work and be okay to set it to a static size. I am told normally websites would be responsive!??

The fix:
Add the image you want to appear into an image file e.g.:
HTML Code:
/out/azure/img/
Next I added a line here:
HTML Code:
/out/azure/tpl/layout/sidebar.tpl
Then I entered the code:
HTML Code:
<a href="http://www.neighbourhoodnewsletters.com.au/" target="_blank"><img style="width: 172px;" alt="" src="http://www.neighbourhoodwatchshop.com.au/out/azure/img/NHNL.png"/></a>
Important: Every time you modify anything you must delete everything in /tmp/

Last but not least I hyperlinked the insertion for example:
Code:
Click <a href="http://www.google.com">here</a> to visit Google
The sizes I took from the widths of the other components in the sidebar (you can 'inspect' them in the browser to see what size things have rendered as).

And that is more or less the fix. Good Luck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
adding, advertisement, page

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Nicht Sichtbar
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inserting a Vide0 (.AVI) into the front page of the CE NHWS Newbies 1 03-19-2016 11:49 AM
Front page code NHWS Newbies 3 12-21-2015 12:08 PM
Active Category Not Displaying on Front Page Sean Installation and configuration 0 08-23-2011 12:19 PM
Flash header to appear only on the front page jpceja Templates and Design 6 07-03-2010 02:10 PM
Confusion regarding front page controls jpceja Templates and Design 2 08-02-2009 06:45 PM

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:52 AM.