Update 4.4.8 to 4.6.8 fails at first step

I’m trying to update a customers oxid shop from version 4.4.8 to 4.8.3 and started with the cumulative update package 4.4.8 to 4.6.8 but it seems to fail in the beginning.

I have to admit that I’m relatively new to the oxid shop system but I read the documentation and the guides about how to update.

Here are the steps I did during the whole update process:

1. The database and the shop folder have been copied to my own server in order to create a safe sandbox for the update.
  2. The config.inc.php file has been adapted to the new environment
  3. The shop has been roughly tested to ensure that everything still works
  4. According to the update guide the content of “copy_this” (from the update package) has been copied to the root folder of the shop.
  5. The config file has been adapted again to match the new version from the “changed_full” folder.
  6. The new .htaccess file from “changed_full” has been copied to the root folder
  7. The “updateApp” folder has been copied to the shop folder
  8. The update has been started vie <sitename>/updateApp

Right after starting the update the first error appeared:
Error: script did not finish successfully.
Please check oxupdatetrack database table for executed actions.

The “oxupdatetrack” table has one entry with the following data:
oxid: 1
oxtime: timestamp when the update started
oxrev: 34028
oxpendingstep: setShopTheme
oxdata: BLOB with content “i:0;”

It seems like the update has a problem with the theme.
I noticed that my customer uses an modified theme called “stemp_theme” which is being set in the old config file using:

$this->sTheme = ‘stemp_theme’;

A similar line was missing in the new config file so I added it manually.

Additionally I checked the log/EXCEPTION_LOG.txt file which has many entries. For example the first exception points out that a table is missing a column: