Update from 4.2.0 to 4.7.8

Hi everyone,

I have to quickly update and modify a client’s OXID webshop which has been first installed 5 years ago (it was version 4.2.0.). So if I got it right, I have to perform the following cumulative updates:

a) from 4.2.0. to 4.4.8.,
b) from 4.4.8. to 4.6.6.,
c) the “special update” from 4.6.5. to 4.7.0., (why can’t I find 4.6.6. to 4.7.0.?) and finally
d) the patch from 4.7.0. to 4.7.8.

Since I am new to OXID and I’m supposed to do the update quite rapidly, I would have loved to get feedback from you experienced people and get possible warnings about the procedure. Also, do I have to check for possible modules that may go wrong with the updates?

Thanks a lot for your help!

Dear aslashi,

when you are new to oxid, this will be a enormous task for you. You need a new template and all modules must be installed in a new version. The basic template is not longer supported and replaced by the Azure theme … a lot changed since the 4.2.
My advice is only to update the database and make all template changes new! You als have to buy all modules in the latest version.

The only good news for you is, that it is worth to update. The new module system is great and the shop runs.

Thanks for your quick reply, Firefax.

I’m new to Oxid but as a developer I’m learning fast! I created my first Magento shop from scratch last year, it sure took me a while to understand how the complex template system worked but I ended up doing something very nice. I’ve read that Oxid should be way easier to comprehend than Magento and I hope it’s true.